Vairagya Shatakam

Vairagya Shatakam is one of the best books that gives the true picture of Renunciation. The book talks on how a common man gets lured by the endless desires which when satisfied fetches him nothing but the desires again. It concludes saying how these unsatiable desires mislead the man from knowing his real nature-omnipotence, omnipresence and omniscience! (Summary by Uday Sagar)

11 chapters
Condemnation of desire
Futile efforts to give up sense-objects
Condemnation of the poverty of a supplicant attitude
Delineation of the evanescence of enjoyments
Description of the working of Time, or the principle of change
A comparison as to how a monk stands to a king
Control of mind by stimulating wisdom in it
Discrimination of the immutable reality from the mutable
Worship of Siva
The way of life of a realized ascetic

Bhartṛhari's items